Pricing analysis · 7 min read
The cheap screenshot app is not always the cheap license
A source-backed CleanShot, Shottr, and Xnapper licensing comparison for one versus three Macs across one and three years, with explicit assumptions and a CleanShot three-seat pricing blocker.
License cost is the sticker price plus the number of Macs, the number of years you want current updates, and the number of users the license actually covers.
CleanShot, Shottr, and Xnapper all use a “pay once” story somewhere in their pricing. The terms underneath are different enough that a single headline price would be misleading.
Existing feature comparisons live in the LazyScreenshots comparison index. This comparison isolates the licensing math.
Assumptions for the table: USD before tax; one licensed user controls the Macs; “current updates” means paying every documented renewal; and a frozen-version total is separate from the current-update column. Shottr’s future-update entitlement is not stated, so those cells remain unknown. Xnapper’s three-year totals are approximate because the terms specify a discount but not checkout rounding.
| Product | 1 Mac / 1 year | 1 Mac / 3 years with current updates | 3 Macs / 1 year | 3 Macs / 3 years with current updates |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CleanShot Basic | $35 | $73 | $94–$105 public-price scenarios | $208–$219 public-price scenarios |
| Shottr Basic | $12 | Unknown | $12 | Unknown |
| Xnapper | $29.99 | ~$66 | $79.99 | ~$176 |
Those CleanShot ranges are intentional. Its public pages list one Mac for $35, two Macs for $59, and five Macs for $139, but do not expose a three-Mac bundle price in the material available here. The $94 figure is the visible two-Mac bundle plus one one-Mac license. The $105 figure is three one-Mac licenses. The checkout or License Manager could resolve that differently. Treat it as a scenario, not a verified three-seat quote. CleanShot purchase page
CleanShot: perpetual app, expiring updates
CleanShot’s published Basic price is $35 for one Mac. The purchase includes one year of updates. After that, the company says updates can be renewed for $19 per seat per year, or the buyer can keep using the last version forever without renewing. CleanShot’s billing explanation
The three-year options are straightforward. If the buyer freezes the app after year one, the cost is still $35 after three years. The app is not described as expiring.
If the buyer wants current updates for all three years, the calculation is:
$35 initial + $19 year 2 + $19 year 3 = $73
For three Macs, the public price page gives us a blocker rather than a clean answer. It shows a one-Mac price of $35 and a two-Mac price of $59. A transparent bundle construction is:
$59 for two Macs + $35 for one Mac = $94 initial
Three separate one-Mac purchases would be:
3 × $35 = $105 initial
If the updates are renewed for three seats in years two and three, those scenarios become:
$94 + (3 × $19 × 2) = $208$105 + (3 × $19 × 2) = $219
They do not support claiming that $94 is the official three-Mac checkout price. That is the blocker.
CleanShot also has a Pro subscription listed at $10 per user per month billed annually, with unlimited cloud storage, branding, and team controls. I am not mixing that into the table because “three Macs” and “three Pro users” are different licensing units, and the public page does not establish the exact same-user/multiple-Mac entitlement needed for an apples-to-apples calculation. CleanShot pricing
Shottr: one user, up to five computers
Shottr’s Basic tier is $12. The purchase page says it is a one-time fee, not a subscription, and that one license covers one user and up to five computers. That makes the one-user scenario unusually simple:
- one Mac for one year:
$12; - one Mac for three years, keeping the purchased version:
$12; - three Macs for one year:
$12; - three Macs for three years, keeping the purchased version:
$12.
The published purchase terms show no update-renewal fee and do not state a future-update entitlement. The safe three-year statement is: $12 if the buyer keeps using the purchased version; current-update cost is unknown from the published terms. The app can still ask free users to consider upgrading after 30 days, and the terms say a commercial user must purchase a license. The $12 number is therefore a paid Basic license for one user, not a universal “free forever” claim. Shottr purchase page · Shottr terms
The table leaves the “current updates” cells unknown because the page does not state a future-update entitlement. A one-time purchase is not enough evidence to fill that blank.
If three Macs means three separate people, the same page says multiple licenses can be purchased. At $12 each, that would be $36, but the public page does not describe a team discount or a separate commercial seat schedule. The $12 three-Mac result applies only to one licensed user operating up to five computers.
Xnapper: perpetual use, explicit device bundles, paid update years
Xnapper’s pricing page is the cleanest of the three for the requested device counts. It lists:
- Basic: $29.99 for one macOS device;
- Personal: $54.99 for two macOS devices;
- Standard: $79.99 for three macOS devices.
Each includes one year of updates. The license is perpetual: the last version continues working forever if the buyer does not renew. After the first year, the company says updates can be renewed at a 40% discount, which means paying 60% of the original purchase price. Xnapper pricing and license terms
For one Mac, the renewal charge is 60% of the original price, which is $17.994 before currency rounding. If each annual renewal is rounded to cents, the charges are $17.99 and the three-year total is $65.97. If the full aggregate is rounded only at the end, it is $65.98. Use approximately $66 unless checkout confirms the billing convention:
$29.99 + $17.99 + $17.99 = $65.97 per-charge rounding
For three Macs, the renewal charge is $47.994 before rounding. Per-charge rounding gives $47.99 twice and a three-year total of $175.97; aggregate rounding gives $175.98. Use approximately $176 unless checkout confirms the convention:
$79.99 + $47.99 + $47.99 = $175.97 per-charge rounding
If the buyer is happy to freeze the app after year one, the three-year totals are simply $29.99 for one Mac and $79.99 for three Macs.
The license page also says a key can be moved to another computer by unlinking a device, and that additional devices can be added at a discount through the License Manager. That does not change the public three-device comparison, but it means a buyer should not assume the Standard bundle is the only possible path when a fourth Mac arrives.
What the terms cover
Shottr is the outlier in this narrow scenario because its published license is per user and covers up to five computers. It is not “$12 per Mac.” It is $12 for one user across the stated computer limit.
Xnapper's initial device bundles cost more than Shottr's one-user license in this example. Future-update totals cannot be compared with Shottr because that entitlement remains unknown.
CleanShot's one-Mac calculation is clear. For three Macs, check the actual checkout price against the $94–$105 constructed scenarios before buying.
There is also a non-price difference that matters:
- CleanShot’s $19 renewal is a per-seat update decision.
- Shottr’s public terms make the relevant unit the user, up to five computers.
- Xnapper’s renewal is tied to the purchase price of the device bundle.
Those are three different definitions of “license.”
Buyer checklist
Before comparing screenshot apps, answer four questions:
- Is this one person using multiple Macs, or multiple people?
- Do you need current updates, or is a frozen version acceptable?
- Does the license cover the number of devices directly, or through a user allowance?
- Are cloud features bundled with the app, optional, or a separate subscription?
If the answer to the second question is “I want current versions,” the three-year column matters. If the answer is “I am buying for a team,” the three-Mac column may be the wrong unit entirely.
Match the licensing unit to the Macs and people actually covered. That is the number worth comparing.
Disclosure
Ali owns LazyScreenshots. That creates a conflict when he writes about LazyScreenshots or reviews competitors, so relevant pieces say so plainly. These articles are research and opinion, not independent third-party ratings.